And because I also sew and patch…

Hyia!

Definitively knitting is my main craft, yet I’ve been for the past two years making some steps in improving my sewing skills. I’ve already shared my first ventures into dressmaking. Today I’m sharing a bit of my attempts at patchwork:

Swoon bag

I made this smalish bag for my mom. She wanted a little bag to take her water bottle, so I decided to use oilcloth for lining, and I used Camille Roskelley’s swoon block for the outside. I’ve been wanting to try out this block for a while, and I’m planning on making a project bag using a larger swoon motif. After you figure out the ratio’s between the piece sizes it is quite easy to costumize. And there are also some free block tutorials out there (2nd). I went a bit overboard with the squaring up of the block… My quilting is inspired by a quilt I saw on the swooning on a hop along group on Flickr.

***

Olá olá!

Definitivamente o tricot é a minha manualidade principal, mas nos últimos dois anos tenho tentado melhorar a minha costura. Já partilhei as minhas primeiras tentativas na costura de roupa, e hoje vou partilhar algumas das minhas tentivas no patchwork:

Saquito Swoon

Fiz este pequeno saquito para a minha mãe. Ela queria um saco pequeno para levar a garrafa de água dela, e por isso usei oleado para o forro, e para o exterior usei o motivo swoon da Camille Roskelley. Já há algum tempo que queria experimentar este motivo, e estou a pensar em usar um motivo maior para fazer um saco de tricot. Depois de perceber as razões entre os pedaços de tecido, é bastante fácil de adaptar. Também existem alguns tutoriais grátis para fazer o motivo (2º). Gosto muito do resultado, e acho que consegui alinhar bem todas as costuras, mas exagerei um bocadinho a acertar o bloco no final… O meu quilting é inspirado numa colcha que usava o mesmo motivo que vi no grupo the swooning on a hop along group do Flickr.

Leave a Reply

