FOs galore! / Um mar de projectos terminados

Hi y’all!!!

First of all, to my english speaking readership I must apologise for launching a portuguese only post last month. The post was about using simple math to adjust your knits to your body, which I think was already widely covered elsewhere in the english writing blogosphere, while very few resources exist for the portuguese reading-only.

I haven’t shared any of my projects for a month, so grab a chair, this will take a while. First off all, my DSPAKAL shawl:

In one of my last posts I shared the yarn I spun, and this is what I made with it. The pattern is Frisson from Brittany Wilson, and I chose it because I wanted a relatively simple pattern, to show the color variations, and easily adjustable to would allow me to just keep knitting until I ran out of yarn, and use all of my handspun. I don’t know why I’m attracted to blue fiber to spin up, yet I rarelly use the color… I might give it to a sister, both my sisters have blue eyes and use blue quite often.

Second, here are two baby sweaters for two different friend’s newborns:

The blue is a puerperium cardigan which I adapted to using a fingering weight yarn, instead of worsted, for more details check out my project page. The green one is my own design. The father of the child participates in bird ringing sessions with my boyfriend, so we thought of making a cardigan similar to a work vest that they often use while ringing. It uses two distinct yarn weights, worsted Katia merino effect for the body and Lana stop prima merino for the sleeves. I used the same yarn for knitting the blue cardigan.

And last but not least, two pairs of sock I’ve mentioned before: The sweet tomato heel crazy zauberball stripes for the boyfriend and the polka dots and scrub brushes for me.

They’re both knit from the toe-up – this is my favourite method. The polka dots and scrub brushes socks were a test for the designer S.L. Myers, which I failed miserably due to lack of time. I skipped the polka dot pattern in the heel flap, because I prefer to reinforce my heels by working a slipped stitch pattern like the eye of patridge. They have a short row and flap heel, which is one of my favourite toe-up heels that in my opinion mimicks the cuff down heel flap construction fairly well. The sweet tomato heel socks were semi-improvised, I split a crazy zauberball in half and made 4 row stripes from each smaller ball. This was my first time using the sweet tomato heel, I find it really easy to knit, but I’m very familiar with short rows, so it might me be harder for someone less used to making short rows. I can’t fairly advise on the fit, when the boyfriend first put them on he complained they were a bit tight across the instep, but he has been using them nonetheless, so I guess it is ok.

For now this is all I have to share with you, if I want to keep up with my makes add my blog to your feed reader like Bloglovin,, follow me on Ravelry, or on Instagram.

Olá olá!!

Já não partilho os meus projectos há muito tempo, por isso sentem-se bem, isto vai levar algum tempo… Primeiro, o meu xaile FFTEC (fiar em fuso e tricotar em conjunto):

Numa das minhas últimas publicações partilhei o fio que fiei, e este xaile é o que tricotei com esse fio. O modelo é o Frisson da Brittany Wilson. Escolhi este modelo porque queria um modelo relativamente simples, que fizesse jus às variações da cor, e que fosse facilmente ajustável, para que pudesse tricotar até terminar todo o fio. O engraçado é que gosto muito de fibra para fiar em tons azuis, mas é raro usar essa cor no dia a dia… Provavelmente vou oferecê-lo a uma das minhas irmãs, ambas tem olhos azuis, e costumam usar azul.

De seguida, aqui estão dois casaquinhos para dois recém-nascidos filhos de diferentes amigos:

O casaco azul é um puerperium cardigan, que adaptei para usar um fio fino (fingering weight yarn), em vez do fio de grossura média (worsted) recomendado pelo modelo, para mais detalhes deêm uma olhada na minha página de projecto. O casaco verde foi desenhado por mim, o pai do bebé participa em sessões de anilhagem com o meu namorado, e por isso pensámos em fazer um casaco que parecesse um dos coletes de trabalho que costumam usar nas sessões. Usei dois fios diferentes, o Katia merino effect de espessura média para o corpo, e o Lanas stop prima merino de espessura fina para as mangas. Este fio também foi o que eu usei para o casaco azul.

E por último dois pares de meias que tinha mencionado anteriormente: as meias com o calcanhar sweet tomato e com riscas de crazy zauberball para o namorado, e as meias polka dots and scrub brushes para mim.

Ambas foram tricotadas a partir da biqueira, este é o meu método preferido. Tricotei as meias polka dots and scrub brushes para um teste do modelo para a designer S.L. Myers, cujo prazo falhei miseravelmente por causa da falta de tempo. Não fiz o padrão “polka dots” no calcanhar, porque gosto de reinforçar os calcanhares usando um padrão de malhas passadas, como o “eye of partridge”. O calcanhar é tem uma construção usando carreiras encurtadas e uma aba, que é um dos meus calcanhares favoritos para meias tricotadas a partir da biqueira, e que na minha opinião, imita perfeitamente os calcanhares mais clássicos (também com aba e carreiras encurtadas) para as meias começadas a partir do cano. As meias que tricotei para o namorado, com o calcanhar sweet tomato heel foram mais ou menos improvisadas. Dividi um novelo de fio crazy zauberball a meio e tricotei riscas de 4 carreiras a partir de cada um dos novelos mais pequenos. Esta foi a primeira vez que experimentei o calcanhar sweet tomato, e achei que era muito fácil de aprender, mas eu estou habituada a tricotar carreiras encurtadas, portanto poderá não ser tão fácil para quem não esteja tão habituado. Não posso fazer um juízo muito fidedigno acerca de como o calcanhar se ajusta ao pé, mas quando o namorado as calçou pela primeira vez, queixou-se que estavam um pouco apertadas no topo do pé, mas entretanto tem-nas usado sem problemas, por isso devem estar boas.

Para já isto é o que tenho para partilhar com vocês, se quiserem manter-se a par do que vou fazendo adicionem o meu blog ao vosso feed reader como o Bloglovin, sigam-me no Ravelry, ou no Instagram.

Leave a Reply

