Writtencast 2: A November recap and plans for December / Recapitulando Novembro e planos para Dezembro

Hi guys! How have you been?

I love to see you back for these monthly recap and planning posts. November was a busy month for me though not so much on a creative way. You might be surprised (or not 😪) to find out I haven’t finished anything I said I was working on last month 😒. But fear not! I have finished objects to show you: I’ve finished a pair of mitts to give as a birthday present.

These are the Maize mitts by Tin Can Knits, and knit up in aran weight yarn, they make excelent speedy gifts for the holiday season. I  knit mine using the leftover from my Rosebud hat during a weekend. The pattern is so thoroughly explained I did not have the patience to read all of it properly, so I messed up the rib at the start because I assumed it was k3,p1 all around, instead of only on the thumb area, and k1p1 for the rest of the mitt.

Other than these mitts I haven’t finished anything else. I’ve been working on the Endpaper mitts, my mother’s cardigan first sleeve, T.’s socks and my Linney cardigan. I’ve also started my first pair of handspun socks, and I’ve got the first sock almost complete! I’m using the 3-ply yarn I’ve spun from Cheviot wool that I’ve dyed myself, and a white commercial yarn (Lana Grossa Meilenweit merino) for the toes and heels.

22863480633_504293370d_z

I’ve also completed a little trinket to put on my Christmas tree, Duggy the fir tree from Cheezombie. I’m planning to knit at least one more little adornment, the Ginger bread boy. Other than these I have no more plans for December, other than knitting another pair of mitts to gift, the pattern is not yet 100% decided, maybe a mitts version of the Lee Beret or the Kærlig mitts.

On the spinning front I worked on (and I’ll continue working on) my Romney fleece. I’m spinning it woolen and making a 3-ply yarn that is coming out a lovely muted brown sport/DK. On the left you’ll see the washed skein and on the right the unwashed yarn. I’ve also finished a little mini from combining two Fondant Fibre random rolags and a Dona Maria Silk hanky.

My stash additions these month have been quite controlled, I only got the November’s fiber club from Sara’s Texture Crafts, and made profit of the Drops Alpaca Party to purchase yarn for a birthday gift, but this isn’t due until January. I’ve also received a lovely skein from Dr. Kristine Kelly of Ewe University podcast, as a participation prize in the October polwarth spinalong/knitalong. It’s a Mean Girls yarn club, episode V: attack of the hoars “one hot mess”.

And it’s all for this month. You have already seen my finished sewing project, the Ultimate trousers from Sew Over It, and I haven’t started working on anything else.

See ya!!! 😉

Olá Malta!!! Como estão todos?

Muito obrigada por voltarem cá para ler estas revisões mensais que vou fazendo aos meus projectos, e planos para o futuro. Novembro foi um mês em que estive muito aterafada, embora não tenha sido de forma criativa. Provavelmente irão ficar surpreendidos (ou não 😪) em saber que não acabei nada do que disse que estava a fazer no mês passado 😒. Mas não temam! Continuo a ter coisinhas terminadas para vos mostrar: acabei um par de mitenes/ luvas sem dedos, ou lá o que lhes queiram chamar!! Estas foram para um presente de aniversário, o meu Natal está um pouco atrasado… 😅

Estas mitenes foram feitas usando o modelo Maize mitts das Tin Can Knits e, sendo tricotadas com um fio grossinho (aran), fazem um excelente presente super rápido e mesmo a calhar para a época natalícia. Estas foram tricotadas usando as sobras do meu gorro Rosebud e só demoraram um fim de semana a terminar. O modelo está tão bem explicado que eu não tive a paciência para o ler todo como deveria ser, e enganei-me ao fazer o canelado ao início pois assumi que era 3mM, 1mL a toda a volta, em vez de ser só na zona do polegar, e o resto em 1mM, 1mL.

Para além das mitenes não terminei mais nada. Trabalhei nas minhas mitenes Endpaper, na primeira manga do  casaco da minha mãe, nas meias do T. e comecei o meu casaco Linney. Para além destes, comecei o meu primeiro par de meias com fio fiado à mão, e quase terminei a primeira meia! Estou a usar o fio 3-ply que fiei usando lã Cheviot  tingida por mim, e um fio de meias comercial branco (Lana Grossa Meilenweit merino) na biqueira e calcanhar.

22863480633_504293370d_z

Também fiz um pequeno enfeite para a minha árvore de Natal, o modelo é o Duggy the fir tree from Cheezombie. Estou a planear tricotar pelo menos mais um ornamento, o Ginger bread boy. Para além do que está começado e destes não tenho mais planos para Dezembro, provavelmente vou tricotar mais um par de mitenes para oferecer, mas ainda não decidi o modelo a 100%, talvez uma versão em mitene da Lee Beret ou as mitenes Kærlig.

Quanto à fiação, tenho estado a trabalhar (e vou continuar por mais algum tempo) na minha lã Romney. Estou a fiá-la no estilo woolen e a fazer um fio 3-ply com um tom castanho suave que está a ficar com uma espessura entre o sport e o DK. À esquerda conseguem ver a meada depois de lavada e à direita antes de lavar. Também terminei uma mini meada, combinei dois random rolags da Fondant Fibre e um lencinho de seda da Dona Maria.

As minhas aquisições este mês foram muito comedidas, só recebi o mês de Novembro, que foi o último do clube de fibra da Sara’s Texture Crafts, e aproveitei a Drops Alpaca Party para comprar o fio para outro presente de aniversário, mas este só precisa ficar pronto em Janeiro. Recebi ainda uma fantástica meada da Dra. Kristine Kelly do podcast Ewe University, um prémio de participação na fiar-em-conjunto/tricotar-em-conjunto de Outubro, com lã polwarth. O fio é do clube das dyers Mean Girls, e chama-se episode V: attack of the hoars “one hot mess”.

E é tudo por este mês. Já viram o meu projecto de costura deste mês, as Ultimate trousers da Sew Over It, e ainda não comecei a trabalhar em mais nada.

Até breve!!! 😉

One thought on “Writtencast 2: A November recap and plans for December / Recapitulando Novembro e planos para Dezembro

Leave a Reply

