Writtencast 3: A bunch of gifts and the kickoff of a new year / Um monte de presentes e o início de um novo ano

Hi guys!!

Thank you for coming back to read my ramblings, or if you’re new, for checking out this tiny neglected blog! Time for a new monthly recap!! Oh were to start? I allways think I have so few stuff to talk about and I have problems starting, but in the end I write the longest posts :S …

Well to kick off the present list, the largest: I finally finished my mother’s cardigan. Pheww!!! I love my mother, but I was so sick of knitting on this cardigan I don’t think I’ll knit her another sweater so soon.

24015840186_829859c896_z

The pattern is the  Fireside by Amy Christophers for Twist collective, and you can check all the deets on my project page. I adjusted the body a lot, to match my mother’s measurements, and because I had a smaller gauge than asked, and then reduced to the largest size for the armscye shaping. The sleeve was also altered, partly because I decided to lenghten the rib to match the rib on the body, and partly because I messed up and repeated the middle section in the lace portion two more times than it was necessary, so the sleeve shaping ended also being adjusted so I could work the second largest size for the cap. The yarn is Katia Merino Classic.

23845156662_dd63beae98_z

Second in the list, T.’s socks. The pattern is Symmetry from Stephanie van der Linden book Op-art socks. I used Katia Olé Socks Togo and Drops Fabel.

24016230936_16a8e8f56b_z

My third project has been finished for a while, I finished it back in October, but I was only able to share now because it was a secret Christmas gift I sent on a swap package. I used the Pressed leaves pattern from Alana Dako’s Botanical knits. I was able to use a leftover from a yarn quite precious to me, and I was looking for the perfect project to use it. It’s the Malabrigo Arroyo in the colorway plomo I used in my Looking back sweater. I’m a fan of Alana’s hat patterns, I might need to knit this for me too in a more leafy color maybe.

My December was quite knit-centric I did not dedicate myself to any sewing projects, other than hemming new curtains and some jeans repairs, but I don’t think you’d like to read about that. On spinning I’m still working on my Romney fleece, and I don’t have that much to show for it.

23746614040_bd0d70a4bc_z

Stashwise, this has been a plentiful month. I’ve profited from the Tricot das Cinco Cyber Monday sale, and stocked up on some Drops cotton merino that will be wonderful for baby knits. I’ve also received a lovely prize from Fluffy fibers podcast, two lovely merino and silk noil batts from Sara’s Texture crafts. I’ve also purchased two hand dyed braids from Porpoise fur, they’re Finnish and Île de France wool, which are quite rare to find hand-dyed. From my lovely swap package I got a skein of Debbie bliss Fine Donegal, and some bits of fluff (Portuguese merino) to spin and minis to add to my blanket. BTW, I won’t make it to my objective of 80 squares this year, but I’m working on square number 64. I hoped to get to 100 squares by it’s one year anniversary, the 20th of February, but it means I would be working on the sock yarn blanket non stop until then, as I’d have to do 5 squares per week. There’s so much else I’d rather work on, so I don’t think I’ll do it, 80 squares per year seems more manageable, I’ll try that.

And finally some statistics from this past year – I’ve finished 31 projects this year, with luck I might make it to 32. I finished five adult sized sweaters and three for babies. This was definitively the year of socks for me, I finished 9 pairs, and I might yet finish the tenth until the end of the year. I’ve knit 4 hats, 3 pairs of mitts, 3 shawls, 3 toys and a swatch. To the next year will remain 4 wips: the ginger bread boy I started this month, and the Linney cardigan I started the month before, a pair of colorwork mitts and a tank top that I’ll try to finish when working with wool becomes dificult (I’m not accounting my sock yarn blanket as a WIP). I’ll start the year by casting on an Ursula cardigan, which has been planned for and yarn bought for more than two years. Me and my friend Rosário will take the leap and at least cast on, making a mini-KAL. This will be my color scheme:

23739000900_c320762466

I haven’t planned anything differently for sewing, and I’ll keep working on the Romney marsh fleece on my spindle.

And what about you? How are you kicking off your year?

😀

Olá Olá!!

Muito obrigada por regressarem para ler as minhas divagações, ou caso seja a primeira vez que lêem este blog negligenciado, muito obrigada por passarem por cá! Já está na altura de uma nova revisão mensal aos meus feitos criativos, por onde começar? Acho sempre que tenho tão pouco para partilhar que nem sei por onde começar, e depois escrevo posts de 2000 palavras…

Antes demais, ficam avisados que este mês tudo o que terminei foi para oferecer, estou extremamente generosa, nem parece meu. Para começar, o maior presente: finalmente terminei o casaco da minha mãe. Pheww!!! Adoro a minha mãe, mas fiquei tão fartinha de tricotar este casaco que acho que não lhe tricoto mais nenhuma camisola nos próximos tempos.

24015840186_829859c896_z

O modelo chama-se Fireside e é da Amy Christophers para a publicação online Twist collective. Os detalhes estão todos na minha página de projecto. Fiz uma data de ajustes no corpo do modelo para ficar com as medidas da minha mãe, e porque a minha tensão era mais apertada que a do modelo, e depois reduzi o número de malhas até chegar ao tamanho maior para fazer a modelação das cavas. As mangas também foram alteradas, em parte porque decidi fazer um canelado maior, para ficar igual ao canelado do corpo, e por outro lado porque me enganei na parte rendada e repeti a secção do meio duas vezes mais que o necessário, e por isso o resto da manga foi ajustado para que pudesse fazer o segundo maior tamanho na cava. O fio que usei foi o Katia Merino Classic.

23845156662_dd63beae98_z

Em segundo na lista de presentes, as meias do T. O modelo é o Symmetry do livro Op-art socks da Stephanie van der Linden. Usei os fios Katia Olé Socks Togo e Drops Fabel.

24016230936_16a8e8f56b_z

O meu terceiro projecto já tinha sido terminado há algum tempo, acabei-o em Outubro mas só agora posso partilhá-lo pois era um presente de Natal para uma troca de presentinhos tricotados e fios organizados pelo grupo Tugas Knits do Ravelry. Usei o modelo Pressed leaves do livro Botanical Knits da Alana Dakos. Consegui usar o fio que me sobrou da minha camisola Looking Back, o Malabrigo Arroyo na cor Plomo, e já estava há algum tempo há procura do modelo ideal para esta sobra tão grande de fio. Adoro os modelos de gorros da Alana, acho que vou ter que tricotar este gorro para mim também, talvez numa cor mais parecida com folhas.

O meu Dezembro foi completamente centrado no tricot, não me dediquei a nenhum projecto de costura, a não ser fazer bainhas em cortinas novas e reparar calças de ganga, mas talvez isso não tenha interesse. Nos meus fusos, continuo a trabalhar na minha fibra Romney, e não tenho grandes progressos para mostrar.

23746614040_bd0d70a4bc_z

Quanto ao stash, este mês foi bastante abastado. Aproveitei as promoções de Cyber Monday da Tricot das Cinco, e comprei alguns novelos de Drops cotton merino que acho que será fantástico para projectos para bebés. Recebi um presente fantástico do podcast Fluffy fibers, dois batts de merino e desperdício (noil?) de seda da loja Sara’s Texture crafts. Comprei ainda duas tranças pintadas à mão da loja Porpoise fur, são de lã de ovelhas de raça Filandesa e Île de France, que não é muito comum encontrar em lojas online já pintada. Da minha fantástica troca de presentes ganhei um novelo de Debbie bliss Fine Donegal, e alguns bocadinhos de fibra (Portuguese merino) para fiar e mini meadinhas para adicionar à minha mantinha de quadrados. Já agora, infelizmente não vou conseguir atingir o meu objectivo de 80 quadrados neste ano, mas já estou a fazer o quadrado número 64. Estava com esperanças de fazer 100 quadrados até a manta fazer um ano a 20 de Fevereiro, mas isso significa tricotar 5 quadrados por ano. Há demasiadas outras coisas nas quais prefiro trabalhar e por isso vou já desistir desse objectivo, 80 quadrados por ano parece-me mais adequado, vou tentar fazer isso. 

E para finalizar, algumas estatísticas deste ano que passou – terminei 31 projectos, com sorte termino 32 até ao fim do ano. Tricotei cinco camisolas de tamanho adulto e três para bebés. Este definitivamente foi o ano das meias para mim, tricotei 9 pares, e com sorte termino o décimo até ao final do ano. Tricotei ainda 4 gorros, 3 pares de mitenes, 3 xailes, 3 brinquedos e uma amostra. Para o próximo ano transitam 4 projectos: o bonequinho ginger bread boy que comecei este mês e o casaco Linney que comecei o mês passado, umas mittens trabalhadas em jacquard e um top em algodão que vou tentar terminar só quando trabalhar com lã começar a ficar complicado (não estou a contar a manta de quadrados como um projecto em curso). Vou dar início ao novo ano ao começar um casaco Ursula, que já está planeado e com fio comprado há mais de dois anos. Eu e a minha amiga Rosário vamos fazer uma mini-KAL para nos icentivar-mos uma à outra. Este será o meu esquema de cores:

23739000900_c320762466

Não planeei nada para a costura, fora o que tinha falado noutros posts, e quanto aos meus fusos, vou continuar a trabalhar na minha fibra Romney marsh.

E vocês? Como vão entrar no vosso 2016 tricotês?

 

😀

 

 

2 thoughts on “Writtencast 3: A bunch of gifts and the kickoff of a new year / Um monte de presentes e o início de um novo ano

  1. Catia says:

    I’m impressed, as always 🙂

    This year I did a lot of amigurumi crochet, to gift to my work colleagues on their birthday: 6 in total (4 more to go this year, then I’ll be done with birthday amigurumi). I’m using very scratchy yarn a friend gave me, you can’t use it for anything else. Someone told me it looks like yarn to make Arraiolos tapestry. I won’t bother you with the details, but you can look them up on my project page: http://www.ravelry.com/projects/catiamendes

    As always I crocheted small tokens to give with my Christmas cards. This year I chose angels: http://www.ravelry.com/projects/catiamendes/crocheted-ornaments. They are always a hit, very easy to make. I saw this silver and golden yarn from Joaninha at a Chinese store, and I knew I had to try it (I usually don’t buy there, but since the yarn is Portuguese….)

    I also did 3 The force awakens hats, with very cheap yarn from Schachenmayr (it was on sale), for my J and the nephews: http://www.ravelry.com/projects/catiamendes/the-force-awakens-hat

    I also did some mittens with a beautiful musical pattern, just for fun, with Drops Unicolor, and then gave them to a pianist, she loved them: http://www.ravelry.com/projects/catiamendes/fingerless-gloves-musica

    For myself I finished 3 knitting projects: a blouse with Drops Cotton Merino (http://www.ravelry.com/projects/catiamendes/shanghai-surplice), a lace sweater with Sulka Legato (http://www.ravelry.com/projects/catiamendes/oriel-lace-blouse) and a red sweater with Beiroa (http://www.ravelry.com/projects/catiamendes/tenney-park). And I sewed my first t-shirt, the Agnes top from Tilly and the Buttons. And a skirt.

    I hadn’t realized I did this much work!

    In 2016, I intend to do:
    – finish the huge blanket I’m doing with Dralon 4, for a friend’s baby (my first project with doubleknitting): http://www.ravelry.com/projects/catiamendes/spirit-bear-chart
    – make a vest for myself using the wonderful Alfeire I received as Christmas present and some Beiroa I have in my stash: http://www.ravelry.com/projects/catiamendes/spring-leaves-vest
    – a mini-shawl for myself to use up the skein of sulka legato I have: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/sacre-coeur
    – some gloves for my J, using Drops Unicolor, embroidered with some geeky pattern: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/very-basic-dancing-at-lughnasa-gloves
    – a third sweater with Beiroa, using the raglanify app, to embroider with a pattern derived from a tile design.
    – do a second Agnes Top (I already have the fabric, it just needs to be cut and sewn).
    – risk sewing pants with a side zipper?????

    • iribeiro says:

      WoW!!! So much progress! And great plans! I love the little angels, I’ll favorite them to use for the christmas tree next year. I allways have so many ornament patterns saved and never make them on time, I only managed one this Christmas! I might join you on the agnes, this and bettine are my favorite tilly and the buttons patterns. I need to find the perfect knit for it though, I ordered some samples on tecidos.com and they all looked too thin to me.

Leave a Reply

